Professional Accreditation

The B.D.A. offers a range of professional accreditations for teaching and assessing children and adults with specific Learning difficulties (SpLD)

Teachers and assessors will need to prove that they can meet the criteria laid down by the BDA Accreditation Board; all accreditations can be gained on the successful completion of a BDA accredited course or equivalent.

These accreditations are Approved Teacher/Practitioner Status (ATS/APS) for the teaching of those with Specific Learning Difficulties/dyslexia;, Associate Member of the British Dyslexia Association (AMBDA) is for Specialist Teachers qualified to diagnose those with Specific Learning Difficulties/dyslexia; Assessment Practising Certificate (APC) for Specialist Teachers also needing to assess for DSA purposes; Accredited Learning Support Assistant (ALSA) to provide support in the classroom for children with dyslexia. There is also the Teaching Practising Certificate which is peer reviewed

Applicants wishing to apply for any of these accreditations must complete the relevant application form and tutor form (if necessary) and submit their application to the Accreditation Officer at the B.D.A. Applications can be processed within six weeks; however it may be necessary to refer applications to the B.D.A. Accreditation Board which meets three times a year, in January, May and September. Applicants will receive a certificate for the appropriate accreditation.

Once an accreditation is awarded applicants are expected to keep themselves up to date with current thinking and practices and submit a continual professional development portfolio to the B.D.A every three years on the anniversary of their award. In all cases these CPD portfolios are assessed by the B.D.A. Accreditation Board. A certificate will be issued on successful submission. The submission date for each Accreditation Board meeting is below:

  • January:  30th November
  • May:  31st March
  • September:  10th August

Menu of Services

Accreditation Level









ATS Individual Merit






CPD Renewal



AMBDA Individual Merit



Stage 1 £150
Stage 2 £240
Stage 3 £165






Full Professional Membership required (£68)

APC Route 1


To include £15 SASC fee

APC Route 1 Plus £240 £165 plus £75 for marking of assessment report

APC Route 2


To include £165 fee

APC Route 3



APC Route 4



APC Renewal


Submission of second report









If first report does not meet the required standard you may be asked to submit a second report

Student Membership



Professional Membership


Required for APC and TPC

Prices correct as of  September 1st 2015 and may be subject to change.

Contact us

Accreditation Department, British Dyslexia Association, Unit 8 Bracknell Beeches, Old Bracknell Lane, Bracknell, RG12 7BW


Telephone: 01344 381560