Skip to main content

Dyslexia Friendly Awards

Literacy Leap

The Literacy Leap award is for Primary schools and Early Years settings. It encourages and celebrates best practice in identifying and supporting children who may be at risk of dyslexia and other SpLD.

The framework is informed by the SEND Code of Practice and enables schools to meet its requirements and support children to reach their full potential.


  • An easy-to-follow process that fully supports Quality First Teaching
  • Access to resources and support
  • Increased knowledge and awareness of dyslexia across the whole school, from Board of Governors and leadership team to teaching and support staff
  • An opportunity for your school to demonstrate compliance with the SEND Code of Practice


The framework is progressive from Bronze to Gold - all Bronze Level requirements must be met before moving on to Silver, and in turn progressing to Gold Level.

This doesn’t mean that you have to apply for each award in turn. If, for example, your school has already met the requirements for Bronze Level, you can apply for the Silver award straight away.

Schools have one year to achieve the award and can hold it for 3 years before being required to re-apply.

Find out more about the Literacy Leap Certification Framework (PDF)

More information

Please email:

Literacy Leap